Today I feel: very blue

rings | older | image|cast |host

2003-02-12 @ 9:18 a.m.
Saying good-by to a pet

Travis (my son) has a ferret. Who has been a part of the family for about six years now. Last night he had some kind of seizure. I think a small stroke. After that he could only crawl in circles and didn't seem to see. He was held by everyone until we had to sleep, then I made a bed for him in a box with a towel. I don't think Travis slept all night though. I talked to Dale (my boyfriend)last night after it happened and he said he had seen the original owner, Robb, about a month ago. Robb was surprised Smoke was still alive. He said his other ferret had died of old age the year before. So I think that this is what is going on. Old age. It would explain why we have been having trouble keeping weight on him and he hasn't been as spry. I just never thought of him as being old. He was always so eager and loved tormenting the cats. Just a very happy pet. Poor Travis was crying and the kid is 22yrs old but a pet that has been in the family that long is just that, Part of the Family.

Travis is finally asleep and I am on death watch. I don't think it will be much longer. He doesn't seem to be in any pain or I would take him to the vets to have him put down. I pet him once in awhile and talk to him. I don't know if he hears me or feels me but I don't want him to be alone. So he is covered up in a barely breathing ball by the computer with me.

Having a furbaby no matter how big or small is a big responcibility and a gift. They become part of our hearts.

Goddess hold his flame in your hands

Goddess guide him to the SummerLands

<< | >>

Older Entries
- - 2005-05-20
new responcibilites-did I spell that one right? - 2005-04-26
this weekends moons - 2004-09-17
Virgo Begins - 2004-08-21
A poem by: Edgar Poe's Cat and life in The House - 2004-08-17

Layout by KiKi