Today we have Horizontal rain and no snow.

rings | older | image|cast |host

2004-01-12 @ 2:01 p.m.
The Dance

I used to dance, really dance. For 15 years it was my most favorite form of exersize, surprise and worship. I belly danced or Oriental Dance as some call it. I miss it so. I still do some of the moves but I don't teach anymore. I don't perform anymore. It is only a private thing now and much more contained. Less heat. My body won't take it. Not that I'm too old but that I have a condition which prevents too much movement now. I have in the recent past been talked into small performances. I always call my doctor and laughingly tell her to expect a call to the ER for a pain shot. She always knows its not just vaccuming, she's usually in the audiance. So now I give sideline instruction when I drop my daughter off at lessons taught by a former student and bite my tongue when I think I could have done it better. LOL My daughter looks amazing. She will be better ever than I was, if she finds that she also loves it.

Here are two poems I found about the dance.

Dance Of Greeting

by Shira

A moment of silence.

They announce The Dancer.

Polite applause.

The music stirs.

The pulse of the drum quickens.

My everyday world fades away

as I approach the Gate.

Behind me lies my waking life.

Ahead of me lie only possibilities.

I step through the Gate,

onto the stage.

I am The Dancer.

I am Salom�, veiled in mystery.

I am Inanna, the Evening Star.

Feel my warmth as I share my art with you.

Feel my joy as I draw inspiration from the music.

Feel my power as I transform it into movement.

Feel my energy as I work my magic.

I am The Dancer.

I am Salom�, veiled in mystery.

I am Inanna, the Evening Star.

In full regalia, I command the stage.

And yet, I hold something back�

I am veiled,

robed in anticipation of things to come.

Promise. Potential. Pacing.

For now, I greet you, but veil my inner self.

Perhaps later I will unveil and share more.

I am The Dancer.

I am Salom�, veiled in mystery.

I am Inanna, the Evening Star.

Promise. Potential. Pacing.

Power lurks behind the veil,

power not yet unleashed,

power only hinted at�for now.

I pace myself for the dance yet to come.

I am The Dancer.

I am Salom�, veiled in mystery.

I am Inanna, the Evening Star.

My Dance Of Greeting draws to a close

as the music winds down.

The creative energy I�ve raised

draws a breath and waits.

Together, we�ve formed a triad of Power:

You, the musicians, and me.

Together, we�ll pass through the next Gate

and draw away the veil,

and explore the dance to come.

I am The Dancer.

I am Salom�, veiled in mystery.

I am Inanna, the Evening Star.

� 1998 by Julie Anne Elliot, All Rights Reserved

About This Poem

This poem was inspired by the beautiful art of Middle Eastern dance, particularly the style that has grown up in the United States that fuses Egyptian, Turkish, and other styles into a distinct art form of its own. The "Dance Of Greeting" is the opening dance of a dancer's multi-part routine. In the American style, the dancer enters with a veil tucked around her, hiding much of her costume, then removes it and dances with it later in the show after the Dance Of Greeting.

and another one:

Feel The Power, Feel The Beat!

by Shira

Feel the power,

Feel the beat!

Faster rhythm,

Rising heat!

Music pulsing,

Rhythms meet,

Dancer shimmies

On her feet!

Feel the dance begin to build

From the dancer, music-filled.

See the dancer step and twirl,

See her power now unfurl!

Feel the power,

Feel the beat!

Faster rhythm,

Rising heat!

Music pulsing,

Rhythms meet,

Dancer shimmies

On her feet!

Shyness and reserve no more--

She commands the dancing floor!

No more inhibitions hide,

All the veils are cast aside.

Feel the power,

Feel the beat!

Faster rhythm,

Rising heat!

Music pulsing,

Rhythms meet,

Dancer shimmies

On her feet!

Energy begins to rise,

And the dancing fills your eyes.

Music strong and music fast

As the dancer's spell is cast.

Feel the power,

Feel the beat!

Faster rhythm,

Rising heat!

Music pulsing,

Rhythms meet,

Dancer shimmies

On her feet!

� 1998 by Julie Anne Elliot, All Rights Reserved

<< | >>

Older Entries
- - 2005-05-20
new responcibilites-did I spell that one right? - 2005-04-26
this weekends moons - 2004-09-17
Virgo Begins - 2004-08-21
A poem by: Edgar Poe's Cat and life in The House - 2004-08-17

Layout by KiKi